Every Friday is Wisdom Friday.  It’s just a way for me to share with my readers the little gems of life that I’ve learned either during the week or living life in general.

I recently spent a lot of time with a friend who is fun and full of energy.  I really enjoyed our time together because he brought the fun out of me and challenged me to experience life in somewhat of a different way.

While I enjoyed our time together, I never felt I was able to be myself completely.  If you’ve read any of my posts on this blog, you know that I am introspective and philosophical in my approach to living.  I like to think about the meaning of the things around me and discuss/share my findings with others, and I truly believe that’s one of my strengths.  Unfortunately, this tendency of mine brought out the worst in him.  In particular, he liked to argue with me for argument sake.  Worse, at times he went out of his way to attack me and put me down.

It recently dawned on me that he and I are probably not suitable to hang out beyond the superficial level because every time we hang out, I feel that my true self is trapped in a cocoon.  In other words, I am in the wrong place when I hang out with him because I simply cannot be myself.

Have you ever been in a situation for a prolong period of time where you felt you are not able to “just be yourself”?  If so, the place is probably not the right one for you.  Thoughts?

