Every Friday is Wisdom Friday.  It’s just a way for me to share with my readers the little gems of life that I’ve learned either during the week or living life in general.

Many of us know that when it comes to the physical condition of our body, we either use it (continue to exercise everyday) or lose it (no longer as strong or can endure as much).  But I find the concept of “use it or lose it” equally applicable to many aspects of our lives.

For example, I noticed that my memory is not as robust as it used to be.  I have become more forgetful than before, and I am not particularly happy about it.  When I dug a little bit deeper to understand why this is happening to me, I notice that I don’t exercise my memory brainpower as much as I used to (thanks in part to technology — why remember anything when you can just look it up or set up reminder alerts?)  Use it or lose it!

Another aspect that I find this concept equally applicable is in my practice to be mindful.  When I first decided to do this, I paid very close attention to the way I live and interact with others.  I made very conscious decisions to be observant, and I keep my attitude in check and my mind very open.  Lately, however, I have not put as much energy into my mindfulness practice.  As a result, I notice I have regressed quite a bit.  Again, use it or lose it!

What do you think?  Leave your thoughts in the comment section!

