Every Friday is Wisdom Friday.  It’s just a way for me to share with my readers the little gems of life that I’ve learned either during the week or living life in general.

One of the hardest struggles for me this year to date in trying to live out the advice in the Wear Sunscreen speech has been to let go of planning the many details of my life because I “worry about tomorrow”.  As the speech went on to say, “The real troubles in your life are apt to be things that never crossed your worried mind; the kind that blindside you at 4pm on some idle Tuesday.”

I believe one of the reasons I am hesitant to let go of my “planning” mindset is I am afraid of the unknown and the unpredictable.  What I should really do is learn to always embrace the unknown and follow the unbeaten path that makes me afraid, curious, excited, delighted, joyful (this also goes hand-in-hand with my other goal of living in the moment).

Truth is, in looking back I realize many of my life’s greatest moments were results of the curve balls thrown my way or the unplanned and chance encounters.  All of my closest friends were met that way; so were the people I dated, career opportunities that had come my way, wisdom I’ve stumbled upon, etc.

Now, I am not saying don’t plan for anything in your life.  Life is much more meaningful when it is deliberate.  What I am saying is don’t plan EVERYTHING; instead, strive to live a more carefree life and learn to embrace paths which outcomes are not yet known.  Trust that good things will come out of the unbeaten path.

