I was browsing for inspiration earlier today when I came across a very short e-book by Stephen Martile titled, “The Genius Within You: How To Uncover Your Inner Genius, Natural Ability, and Life Purpose.”  It’s only 16 pages long, but it took me forever to get through the whole thing.  In fact, I am still not through with it.  It’s not that it was hard to read — in fact, it was so well written even an 5th-grader can read it with ease.  Rather, what stumped me was my effort to answer the questions the e-book posed, mainly, “Who am I?”

I find myself answering the question with, “I want to (i.e. love and be loved, help others, etc.)…” or “I am a web analyst (but our career and jobs don’t define who we are)” or “I see myself doing so-and-so a few years from now.”  Those are all good answers, but they don’t answer the question at all.  Why is it so hard to answer such a simple question?

Who am I?  Who are you?  Who are we?

Is the reason the answer so hard to come by because we’ve lost our inner self as we’ve grown up (in size and age, not in the spiritual sense)?  Or is the reason we’ve never truly answered that question from the start?

I don’t know, but I have something else to ponder during my down time now.  More than having an answer for myself, I want to find out how one answers that question.  And when I have an answer, I will share with you.  Please stay tuned!

