Most, if not all, of us have woken up from a dream one time or another in our lives. Some of my dreams were actually quite pleasant, but it’s the nightmares that I remember the most. My most memorable dream was the one I had when I was a sophomore in college.

I was one of the many (and I do mean MANY) pre-medical students studying for the Organic Chemistry mid-term. If you were/are also a pre-med student, you would know that Organic Chemistry was THE “weed-out the weak students” pre-med class. In other words, they made it as hard as possible so that they could flunk out as many of the students as possible. The medical-school hopefuls studied and prayed hard around test times to ensure they passed the class lest the dream of becoming a doctor would soon evaporate into thin air.

I remember it was a Thursday night, and it was raining. I only had about ten hours left to prep before my exam at 8:30am the next morning. I must have fallen asleep at my desk because the next thing I knew, I was being chased by molecules! The molecules were larger than life. In fact, the one that was running me down must have stood at least ten feet tall. The dream was so vivid I remember counting the number of carbons and hydrogens and thought to myself, “I am being chased by benzene!! Quick, I need to tell somebody benzene is chasing me so that they can report it to the police!”

Right as benzene was crushing me, I woke up in cold sweat! THANK GOODNESS it was only a dream! If I were to die of benzene poisoning, I sure hope it wasn’t because I was crushed by one!

Fast forward to today, I should thank my dream for my passing the exam and the class with flying colors. Why? According to this article, my dream was the result of my brain acting in overdrive to help me learn the materials. If only I had known that back in the days, I would have slept more and not felt guilty about it! If you are studying for an exam now, you should definitely take a nap every so often! It’s good for your body, soul, and exam score!

