One of my favorite websites to get inspirational stories is Life Remix.  Today, I came upon an article titled, “Social Glass Ceilings,” and it talks about how our ability and accomplishment are related to the capabilities of the people around us.  I find it to be absolutely true.

I, too, was an effortless A student in high school.  But I learned very little because I didn’t stretch myself very much.  Things changed a bit when I went to college, but I still got by with little work in most of my classes.  It wasn’t until I went to grad school that I felt challenged and subsequently grew the most.

As a learner (according to my Strengthfinder profile), I completely embrace that period of my life where I was kicked to the curb on numerous occasions and had to crawl my way back and in the process learned some of the most valuable lessons in academia and in life.  I wonder, though, if I may be translating that yearning into the people I date.  Let me be more specific.

I’ve always been attracted to men who can teach me about new things in life.  The guys need not be book smart (although that helps), but I’ve been drawn towards those who can enrich my life by becoming my teachers of sort.  I’ve always attributed that to the fact that I am just a snob when it comes to things like that, but after reading that article, I believe it’s more than that.  I think deep down inside, I knew that I won’t be able to learn and grow if I hang out with those who are of my equal.  When it comes to spending the rest of my life with somebody, it’s even more important for me to find the one who can help me grow for the rest of my life.

This is a new ah-ha for me, and I would love to hear your thoughts and personal experience on that.  if you feel incline to share, please leave your thoughts in the comment section!

